Contact us

No;251, Third Floor, Seik Kanthar Street (upper block), Kyauk Tadar Township, Yangon, Burma.
Phone - +959 250566018
Email -
Facebook - Democratic Party for a New Society

The result of by-elections is a triumph of NLD and the people of Burma

2 April 2012

Democratic Party for a New Society (DPNS) praises the overwhelming victory of National League for Democracy (NLD) at the by-elections held on 1 April 2012, and views that this is not only a triumph of NLD and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi but also of all the people of Burma.

DPNS views that this outcome of by-elections approves the people’s supports to commitments of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi for rule of law, peace and amendment of 2008 Constitution.  Ngwe Lin, the General Secretary of DPNS said “these political pledges are vital for the process of democratization in Burma.”   And he continued to say “we still need to work hard for the release of all political prisoners, a nationwide cease-fire and a process of all-inclusive political dialogues towards an emergence of a democratic federal union in Burma.”

DPNS firmly holds its position that our current task is mainly to strike by peaceful and democratic means for a reform of 2008 Constitution so as to guarantee democratic principles and equality of all ethnic nationalities in Burma.

DPNS looks forward to seeing that NLD led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi carries out these political programmes with the supports of all the people of Burma and democratic forces including ethnic groups.  DPNS is determined to take part in these efforts and work hard for the accomplishment of the tasks.

DPNS sincerely urges the Burmese government led by President U Thein Sein to make their utmost efforts for all-inclusive programmes of democratic transition and keep the current political trend not to be reversed.

Central Leading Committee

Democratic Party for a New Society (DPNS)

For media contact:

Zaw Zaw Htun

Mobile Phone +66 81 5323177

E-mail: <>


Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>